Arusha Technical College (ATC) is an autonomous institution registered by the National Council for Technical and Vocational Education and Training (NACTVET) to train technicians and engineers. ATC is fully National NACTVET accredited, and runs engineering technician programmes. ATC was granted autonomy in March 2007, through the Arusha Technical Establishment order No. 78 under the NACTE ( Now NACTVET) Act no. 9 of 1997 to replace the then Technical College of Arusha (TCA) that existed since 1978. The college has therefore gone through 30 years of good reputation in provision of technical education and training.


As of January 2022, the College has twenty-five (25) Technical Education Training (TET) programmes, eighteen (18) diploma programmes and nine (9) bachelor’s programmes). The College is also registered by Vocational Education Training Authority (VETA) to train Artisans (NVAs 1-3). Currently the College has twenty-three (23) Vocational Education Training (VET) programmes.


The College is located at the central business district of Arusha, which is famous in agriculture, commerce, trade and tourism. The municipality is also the headquarters of the East African Community (EAC) and the central point in Africa between Cape Town and Cairo.

Arusha Township is surrounded by famous mountains such as Mount Kilimanjaro and Mount Meru. In addition, it is the door to the world’s great wildlife heritage, including Ngorongoro Crater, Serengeti and Lake Manyara National Park. It is such a milieu that makes the college’s location an ideal place for education, training and applied researches.



The vision of ATC is to be a Premier provider of demand driven Training, Research and consultancy through Science, Technology and Innovation (STI) for sustainable development.



The mission of ATC is to provide competence-based Technical Education & Training and carry out research and consultancy in Science and Technology and Innovation (STI) sustainable development.




·        Accountability and honesty

·        Service to community

·        Freedom and responsibility

·        Integrity

·        Mutual respect and unity of purpose

·        Diversity

·        Excellence in performance

·        Equal opportunity